Jeremy Corbyn & The PLP (Parliamentry Labour Party)

mum-and-jc

I had to add the bit in brackets because when I kept hearing the term PLP, I had to google it because I thought it was some secret organisation.

I admit I am a big fan of Jeremy Corbyn.  For me he optimizes what the way the world should be like; promoting fairness, equality and humanity.  Unfortunately, I don’t know if this vision can be realised.  The country is split and most people are looking out for themselves.  He appeals to those who want a fair crack at the whip who he would help, while there are those who own the whip and don’t want it taken off them by the kind of policies someone like Jeremy Corbyn would introduce.  I realise I have put this too simply, but I just wanted make a very quick observation as to why I don’t think Jeremy Corbyn appeals to everyone.

I have been appalled by the Labour Party over the past week. Instead of using this opportunity to hold the Conservative government to account and ask where is the leadership during this big change, they decide to wash their dirty laundry in public and be the ones in the headlines, while David Cameron and George Osbourne get off more or less scot-free.  To add insult to injury, the person the party want to oust Jeremy Corbyn with is Angela Eagle.  If her performance in the EU referendum debate is anything to go by, then I think the Labour Party need to go back to the drawing board with that idea.  If Angela Eagle was so concerned about Jeremy Corbyn why was she giving interviews on tv about her discussions with him?  It just seems a bit bizarre to me.

This is what I don’t understand; Jeremy Corbyn allegedly did not campaign for a remain vote as hard as his party had wished.  Maybe it is because he did not truly believe in remaining, who knows?  But if he was a reluctant remainer and the majority of the country wished to leave the EU, does that not mean that he gauged the mood of the country more accurately than the majority of the Labour Party?  I don’t believe that it is for politicians to tell people how to think; surely it is about free will and individual liberty.  So I don’t quite understand how the resigning Labour MPs can blame their leader for the will of the people.

I have been appalled with Labour over the past week.  Instead of using this opportunity to hold the Conservative government to account and ask where is the leadership during this big change, they decide to wash their dirty laundry in public and be the ones in the headlines, while David Cameron and George Osbourne get off more or less scot-free.

Then on the other side of the political bench you have Theresa May more or less silent on remaining in the EU, but looking like the favourite to win the Conservative leadership battle.

I’m confused, can someone help me to understand?

Please leave comments below.  Let’s unpick what is going on together.

 

 

Leave a Reply

